American Society Of Cinematographers Re-Elects President Shelly Johnson


The American Society of Cinematographers has re-elected Shelly Johnson for a second time period as its president and voted in three VPs and different officers.

The ASC Board of Governors additionally elected Vice Presidents Charlie Lieberman, Patti Lee and Cynthia Pusheck; Treasurer Charles Minsky; Secretary Dejan Georgevich; and Sergeant-at-Arms Chris Chomyn.

“This past year has been a challenging time for our industry, and the ASC has strived to serve as the glue to keep our community together,” Johnmson stated in an announcement. “Cinematographers are an open collective, willingly sharing our knowledge and values for the betterment of the art form. Our focus is to help create a healthy and vibrant existence that evolves with the forward movement of our industry.”

Johnson is a four-time ASC Award nominee whose lengthy listing of credit consists of Apocalypse Now, Captain America: The First Avenger, The Wolfman and the upcoming Elevation and Aftermath. He was elected ASC president in May 2023, succeeding two-term chief Stephen Lighthill, and in addition serves on the Executive Committee for the Cinematographers Branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He been an ASC member since 2000.

“As we are accustomed to doing on-set, cinematographers lead by example,” Johnson added. “We hope that the ASC’s outreach of support, education and collaborative spirit will continue to set the tone that helps facilitate a positive and rewarding future.”

ASC was based in 1919 and counts greater than 450 members together with 300 affiliate members from ancillary segments of the trade. The group has but to disclose the timeline for subsequent 12 months’s thirty eighth annual ASC Awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here