SeriesFest Unveils Pilot Competition Winners


SeriesFest, the tv occasion in Denver, drew dozens of impartial creators over the previous couple of days and has now handed out some awards for its pilot competitors.

Some 45 pilots from around the globe had been in competitors on the tenth iteration of the pageant.

Check again later this week to listen to from numerous the creators about their plans to breakthrough with their very own impartial tasks.

Winners included Shazia Javed’s Potluck Ladies and Jesse Toledano’s Broken Toilets, whereas Anna Camp-starring Neo-Dome, from Mark and Matt Pfeffer scooped the viewers award.

Potluck Ladies gained the drama awards. It follows Sumaira, Azra, and Ruby, who reside in “The Wives Condos” within the suburbs of Toronto with their kids, whereas their husbands work in different international locations. They initially meet at potluck lunches, a weekly guilt-free escape from the loneliness of immigrant life. At first look, they appear to be residing excellent lives, however when their fastidiously crafted facades crumble, they need to study to be weak and search one another’s help. 

Written and directed by Javed, the pilot stars Natasha Krishnan, Elisa Moolecherry and Kavita Musty.

On the comedy aspect, Toledano wrote and directed Broken Toilets, which stars Luzer Twersky and Dede Lovelace. It tells the story of Yossi Klein, a younger Hassidic man, tasked to care for his father-in-law’s buildings in a low-income, principally black outer borough of NYC. But Yossi has a secret – he loves hip hop.  During the on a regular basis mundane, usually absurd duties that come together with property administration, he meets two tenants – younger aspiring hip hop artists, DiAndra “Dee” Jones and Kevin Randolph. Together they type essentially the most unlikely of musical trios and set off to make a demo document, all of the whereas Yossi navigates what it means to be a Hassidic Jew within the trendy world. 

Elsewhere, Breakthrough, a documentary sequence that explores how athletes face identification crises and melancholy, gained the unscripted awards, The Haunting of Trisha Lozada gained the Pitch-A-Thon, the Neo-Dome ensemble gained the very best efficiency and the viewers award for impartial pilot competitors for drama. The Boy Who Was Afraid of Everything gained the viewers award for comedy.

“Our Independent Pilot Competition embodies the very essence of SeriesFest and aligns with our core mission – to champion independent artists,” mentioned Randi Kleiner, CEO and Co-Founder of SeriesFest. “With ten seasons under our belt, we’ve been able to establish a platform for showcasing up-and-coming creators, providing them with an outlet to amplify their voices and share their projects with industry executives, established on-screen talent and below-the-line creatives. This year’s winners represent the future of television and we could not be more excited to celebrate their success.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here